Artificial Intelligence in Power and Energy Systems (AIPES)

The Thematic Track on Artificial Intelligence in Power and Energy Systems aims at providing an advanced discussion forum on recent and innovative work on the application of artificial intelligence approaches in the field of power and energy systems, including agent-based systems, data-mining, machine learning methodologies, forecasting and optimization.

Topics of interest

AIPES welcomes full length papers (of up to 12 pages) and also short papers (up to 6 pages), demonstrating practical applications.

Authors should consult Springer’s authors’ guidelines and use their proceedings templates, either for LaTeX or for Word, for the preparation of their papers. Springer encourages authors to include their ORCIDs in their papers. In addition, the corresponding author of each paper, acting on behalf of all of the authors of that paper, must complete and sign a Consent-to-Publish form. The corresponding author signing the copyright form should match the corresponding author marked on the paper. Once the files have been sent to Springer, changes relating to the authorship of the papers cannot be made.

Accepted papers will be included in EPIA 2020 proceedings (a volume of Springer’s LNAI-Lecture Notes in Artificial Intelligence). EPIA 2020 proceedings are indexed in Thomson Reuters ISI Web of Science, Scopus, DBLP and Google Scholar.

Authors of selected papers will be invited to submit an extended and improved version to a special issue published with Energies international journal (Impact Factor: 2.707). Article processing charges (APC) will be waived for the BEST PAPER. All other papers accepted in AIPES will be offered a 15% discount for inclusion in this special issue.

Organizing Committee

  • Zita Vale – Polytechnic of Porto (Portugal)
  • Tiago Pinto – Polytechnic of Porto (Portugal)
  • Pedro Faria – Polytechnic of Porto (Portugal)
  • Elena Mocanu – University of Twente (The Netherlands)
  • Decebal Constantin Mocanu – Technical University of Eindhoven (The Netherlands)

Program Committee 

  • Jose L. Rueda, Delft University of Technology
  • João P. S. Catalão, University of Porto
  • Goreti Marreiros, Polytechnic of Porto
  • Olivier Boissier, Mines Saint-Etienne, Institut Henri Fayol, Laboratoire Hubert Curien 
  • Fernando Lopes, Laboratório Nacional de Energia e Geologia
  • Isabel Praça, Polytechnic of Porto
  • Jan Segerstam, Empower IM Oy
  • João Peças Lopes, University of Porto
  • Dagmar Niebur, Drexel University
  • Rui Castro, Universidade de Lisboa
  • Germano Lambert-Torres, PS Solutions
  • Ana Estanqueiro, Laboratório Nacional de Energia e Geologia
  • Peter Kadar, Obuda University
  • Pierluigi Siano, Università degli Studi di Salerno